Delete Instagram Threads Account

Threads, created by Meta, now has been downloaded and used by millions of users. But many people don’t feel the need to use it and find ways to delete Instagram Threads accounts.

Then let me tell you, you are at the right place. In this article, we have discussed the process of how to delete account on Threads in detail. So, check out the article to learn the complete process.

However, deleting a Threads account can be a lot more complicated. That’s why, you can choose to deactivate your Threads account and it would be a temporary action.

Can I Delete My Threads Account?

Yes, you can delete your Instagram Threads account anytime you want. But the main point is that, if you wish to delete Instagram Threads account, you would end up losing your Instagram account. So, if you have used one of your Instagram accounts to signin Threads account, then while deleting you will lose all the data of your Instagram account.

So, until it’s very necessary try not deleting an Instagram Threads account. Rather, you can choose to deactivate it, that would be a lot easier process to do, and also it’s less complicated. 

How To Delete My Instagram Threads Account Permanently?

As I have mentioned earlier in the article that deleting a Threads account would be a permanent thing, and your Instagram account will also be deleted at the same time.

But if you still want to delete Instagram Threads account, then just follow the process we have mentioned below:

  • Open your Threads app, and click on the profile icon at the below extreme right corner of the page.
  • Click on the hamburger menu in the extreme top right corner of the page.
  • A list will appear, and then click on “Accounts”.
  • Then tap on “Other account settings”.
  • After which click on “See more in Accounts Center”.
  • Tap on “Personal details” after the list appears.
  • Then click on “Account ownership and control” and then tap on “Deactivation or deletion”.
  • Select the Instagram account which is linked with the Threads account (if you have multiple accounts).
  • Now you will get two options either to deactivate or delete Threads account and then click on “Continue”.
  • Choose a reason to delete your Threads account and tap on “Continue”.
  • After this enter your password and click on “Continue” again.
  • Then click on “Delete account” to finally confirm your Threads account deletion request.

After completing this process, Meta will automatically delete your Threads account permanently after 30 days. At the same time, your Instagram account will also be deleted.

How Can I Deactivate My Threads Account?                                                                          

Deactivating your Instagram Threads account is a lot easier thing to do than deleting your account. As when you delete Instagram Threads account, you lose your Instagram account as well. So, you can deactivate your Instagram Threads account just after following some general steps:

  • Open the Threads app, and click on the profile icon at the bottom left-right corner of the page.
  • Then click on the hamburger menu.
  • After which tap on “Account”, when the list appears.
  • Click on “Deactivate profile”.
  • Then a screen appears, and click on “deactivate Threads profile”.

This a temporary thing, and you can get back your account after reactivating your Threads account.

How Can I Temporarily Deactivate My Threads Account?

There is only one way to temporarily deactivate your Threads account. That is, simply deactivate it after visiting your Threads account. Moreover, this would be the best option other than to delete Instagram Threads account.

From your Threads profile, you can easily deactivate your account after following some steps. In the above part of the article, we have provided the steps to deactivate your Threads account.

What Happens If You Deactivate Your Threads Account?

Delete Instagram Threads Account

When you deactivate your Threads account, nothing much happens. The deactivation of your Threads account is just a temporary action. So, all your Threads activity, including profile pictures, messages, and likes, will be hidden from others.

Neither your Threads data nor your Instagram data get deleted when you deactivate. You can easily get your data back or reactivate your account by logging back into your Threads account.

What Happens If You Delete Instagram Threads Account Permanently?

If you want to delete your Threads account permanently, then you will end up deleting your Instagram account as well. It would be better if you thought twice to delete Threads account, as the action would be permanent.

Until and unless you feel the need to delete your Threads account, to detach yourself from social media platforms, we would prefer you not to delete it. But if you strongly feel the need to do it, then we have provided information on how to delete account on Threads.

After deleting your Threads account, not only your Instagram account but also your Threads-related activity and Instagram-related activity will be removed from the server. Then again, you have to download Instagram to use it again.

Do Threads Collect Your Personal Information?

Yes, Instagram Threads collects your basic personal information while you use it. Threads can collect your personal information, like your profile picture, your Threads bio, activity, followers, and other related information.

Threads have been using this data to improve your engagement on the page and bring you posts related to your search. If you delete Instagram Threads account with link, then they might not use your data. However, it is not clear yet whether, after temporarily deactivating, Instagram will use your data or not.

Final Thoughts- Delete Account Threads

So far in the article, it has been clear that in order to permanently delete account Threads, you have to end up losing your Instagram account as well. That’s why it would be better either to deactivate your Threads account to stop all the activities temporarily or to uninstall the Threads app.

In this article, we have provided a simple process to deactivate and delete Instagram Threads account from your device. The process of deleting and deactivating the Threads account is the same for Android and iOS. Deactivating your Threads account would be the best option if you are looking for a temporary solution.

Can I Delete The Threads Account Without Removing The Instagram Account?

No, it is not possible. You can’t delete your Threads account without removing your Instagram account. Both social media platforms work in conjunction, which is why if you delete Threads account permanently, you will also lose your Instagram account. But you can deactivate your Threads account, as a temporary action.  

Do You Need Instagram For Threads?

Yes, you need an Instagram account to log in to your Threads account. Both apps are interconnected but work independently. If you don’t have an Instagram account, you have to create one to start using Threads. Even if you deleted your Threads account, your Instagram account would also be deleted. 

What Happens To My Threads Data If I Delete The Account?

If you permanently delete Instagram Threads account, then your data will also be erased. All your Thread data will be deleted from the Meta servers. So, you must think twice before deleting your Threads account permanently because all your data, including photos, messages, and contacts, will be removed forever.

Leave a Comment